Why YOU should live in the CCI Commons!

– Written by: Wyana Wright

My name is Wyana Wright and I’m a sophomore majoring in broadcast

journalism. I’m also one of the Student Leader’s in Olson Hall. My job requires me to

interact with the students in the commons, recruiting incoming freshman into the

Commons and helping in any other way possible around the community. I’ve been living

in Olson for two years now & it’s been nothing but a blast for me. I remember move in

day walking around like a chicken with its head cut off trying to find someone who could

connect my laptop to the Internet. The staff was very friendly & welcoming to me and

from the day on I knew I chose the right place. I originally chose Olson because I was

very shy being an only child and I wanted to live in a small place and interact with less

people. I know it sounds weird that I tried to shy away from people being journalism

major, but it definitely didn’t work! Olson is a communication dorm meaning we all love

talking and I made tons of friends that very first day. I truly believe living in a learning

community is a great investment for incoming freshman and beyond. Yes, I’ll be the first

to admit that living in the freshmen dorm sounds fun, but I’ll also admit that living in a

learning community is much more beneficial. Not only is Olson a fun place to live, but

also it’s a great transition from high school. Olson is the only dorm that offers evening

activities and lunches, with free food provided almost every Wednesday. The activities

are always a blast, but you usually learn so much from them. Between guest speakers,

lunches with the dean, festivals and murder mysteries there’s never a dull moment in the

Commons. In other dorms you won’t get the help and support you need being in a very

big and new place. The staff in Olson is here to make sure you succeed and make life-

long connections. Living in Olson you get the benefit of having smaller class sizes with

only people who live inside the commons. I found this very useful as a freshman, because

it’s a great way to know who’s living in your dorm and to make not only life –long

friends, but study partners as well. Olson also offers study groups, which is another great

way to meet people. I plan on living in Olson for my JR year as well because I’ve grown

so much living here and Olson really feels like a home away from home to me. The

location is also great we’re the closet dorm to all of the buildings where many classes are

held and I can’t say I don’t love that. You’re around people with similar interest as you at

all times which is great because it’s easier to bond with people you share common

interest with. If you want to begin to make investments into your future I promise Olson

is the place to start.

 

Leave a comment